Penn medical-student research mentee of Amol S. Navathe[7]
From 2021

Education, training and research through time.
Undergraduate
University of Virginia
Medical school
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Residency
Johns Hopkins Hospital
Fellowship
University of Pennsylvania
A dated UVA article identifies Connolly as a third-year College of Arts & Sciences student and a history and politics honors double major. It does not state his enrollment or graduation dates.
J Clin Sleep Med · First author
Am J Med · First author
Cardiovasc Revasc Med · First author
Hopkins’ December 2025 fellowship-match announcement names Penn cardiology, consistent with Penn’s 2026 first-year roster. The still-live senior-resident listing is therefore most plausibly stale; this is a reconciliation inference, not a printed residency end date.
Cardiovasc Revasc Med · First author
Am J Med
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Penn's fellowship roster identifies the Perelman School of Medicine. A 2020 Penn evidence report and a mentor's January 2025 CV independently place Connolly there as a medical student in 2020 and 2021; these observations do not establish continuous attendance or the complete degree interval.
May 6, 2020
Penn Medicine Center for Evidence-based Practice
Penn's May 6, 2020 rapid guidance summary credits Connolly as a lead analyst.
Reported as 2021-Present in a January 2025 CV
Navathe's January 2025 CV lists Connolly as a Penn medical-student research mentee from 2021 to 'Present.' That wording describes the CV as of January 2025 and is not treated as proof after that date.
Works appear by publication year. Their position does not establish where or when the underlying research was performed.
Degrees, training periods and the milestones within them.
A dated UVA article identifies Connolly as a third-year College of Arts & Sciences student and a history and politics honors double major. It does not state his enrollment or graduation dates.
Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania
Penn's fellowship roster identifies the Perelman School of Medicine. A 2020 Penn evidence report and a mentor's January 2025 CV independently place Connolly there as a medical student in 2020 and 2021; these observations do not establish continuous attendance or the complete degree interval.
May 6, 2020
Penn Medicine Center for Evidence-based Practice
Penn's May 6, 2020 rapid guidance summary credits Connolly as a lead analyst.
Reported as 2021-Present in a January 2025 CV
Navathe's January 2025 CV lists Connolly as a Penn medical-student research mentee from 2021 to 'Present.' That wording describes the CV as of January 2025 and is not treated as proof after that date.
Hopkins’ December 2025 fellowship-match announcement names Penn cardiology, consistent with Penn’s 2026 first-year roster. The still-live senior-resident listing is therefore most plausibly stale; this is a reconciliation inference, not a printed residency end date.
Penn medical-student research mentee of Amol S. Navathe[7]
From 2021
Lead analyst on Penn Medicine's May 2020 rapid guidance summary on personal protective equipment[8]
May 6, 2020
8 attributed works · 5 first author. Counts reflect resolved authorship and may be incomplete.
Sources are listed once and connected to each accepted claim they support. Excerpts preserve the source language used in the review.
7 source claims · Reviewed Sep 5, 2026
Attributed work: Changes in Payer Mix Associated With Private Equity Acquisition of Ophthalmology Practices | DOI 10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2025.12629 | PMID 40434776
May 1, 2025
PMID 40434776 | John E Connolly | Department of Medicine, Johns Hopkins Hospital
Attributed work: Females are underrepresented in randomized controlled trials of mechanical circulatory support in cardiogenic shock | DOI 10.1016/j.carrev.2026.01.005 | PMID 41565521
Jan 14, 2026
PMID 41565521 | John E Connolly | Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University
Attributed work: Heart failure with preserved ejection fraction risk is associated with prevalence and severity of obstructive sleep apnea | DOI 10.5664/jcsm.10876 | PMID 37962070
Mar 1, 2024
PMID 37962070 | John E Connolly, MD | Department of Internal Medicine, Johns Hopkins Hospital
Attributed work: Hospital Consolidation: The Rise of Geographically Distant Mergers | DOI 10.1001/jama.2023.5391 | PMID 37052898
May 9, 2023
PMID 37052898 | John E Connolly | Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Attributed work: Timing of microaxial flow pump in acute myocardial infarction related cardiogenic shock: A national analysis of mortality and complications | DOI 10.1016/j.carrev.2025.11.003 | PMID 41242909
Nov 10, 2025
PMID 41242909 | John E Connolly | Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine, Johns Hopkins University
Attributed work: Transcatheter aortic valve replacement achieves similar predicted effective orifice area to surgical aortic valve replacement in bicuspid aortic stenosis | DOI 10.1016/j.carrev.2024.03.017 | PMID 38553277
September 2024
PMID 38553277 | John E Connolly | Department of Internal Medicine, Johns Hopkins Hospital
Attributed work: Transcatheter Aortic Valve Replacement in Low-Risk Patients at Four or More Years | DOI 10.1016/j.amjmed.2024.05.031 | PMID 38876333
October 2024
PMID 38876333 | John E Connolly | Division of Cardiology, The Johns Hopkins Hospital
1 source claim · Reviewed Sep 5, 2026
Attributed work: Natural history and outcomes of early aortic valve replacement versus conservative management in asymptomatic severe aortic stenosis: A meta-analysis | DOI 10.1016/j.amjmed.2026.03.033 | PMID 41956340
Apr 7, 2026
PMID 41956340 | John Connolly, author position 5 | Department of Medicine, Division of Cardiology, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
1 source claim · Reviewed Sep 5, 2026
Biographical context: As a UVA second-year student, conducted archival research on Martin Luther King Jr.'s political, social, and theological beliefs and public ministry
2015
John Connolly, 20, of Wilmington, Delaware, a second-year student in the College of Arts & Sciences, is conducting archival research to investigate the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.'s political, social and theological beliefs
2 source claims · 2 journey details · Reviewed Sep 5, 2026
History and politics honors double major: Observed as a third-year student on Feb 24, 2016. A dated UVA article identifies Connolly as a third-year College of Arts & Sciences student and a history and politics honors double major. It does not state his enrollment or graduation dates.
No ORCID education or employment history is available in the sources. The undergraduate completion date, medical-degree conferral date, and residency dates remain unknown.
Biographical context: As a UVA third-year history and politics honors double major, researched the fallout of desegregation busing in Wilmington
2016
John Connolly of Wilmington, Delaware, a third-year history and politics honors double major, is researching the fallout of desegregation busing in Wilmington
Undergraduate education: University of Virginia, College of Arts & Sciences; history and politics honors double major
John Connolly of Wilmington, Delaware, a third-year history and politics honors double major
3 source claims · 5 journey details · Reviewed Sep 5, 2026
Doctor of Medicine education: Attendance dates unknown. Penn's fellowship roster identifies the Perelman School of Medicine. A 2020 Penn evidence report and a mentor's January 2025 CV independently place Connolly there as a medical student in 2020 and 2021; these observations do not establish continuous attendance or the complete degree interval.
Internal Medicine Residency: Listed under Senior Residents on Sep 5, 2026. Hopkins’ December 2025 fellowship-match announcement names Penn cardiology, consistent with Penn’s 2026 first-year roster. The still-live senior-resident listing is therefore most plausibly stale; this is a reconciliation inference, not a printed residency end date.
First-year Cardiovascular Disease Fellow: Observed on current roster, Sep 4, 2026. Penn's roster places Connolly among first-year cardiovascular disease fellows. This observation does not establish the fellowship's full interval.
No ORCID education or employment history is available in the sources. The undergraduate completion date, medical-degree conferral date, and residency dates remain unknown.
The dated Hopkins match announcement and subsequent Penn first-year observation support the transition despite the stale senior-resident page. The actual residency end and fellowship start days remain unknown.
Fellowship: Cardiovascular Disease Fellowship, University of Pennsylvania
1st year fellows ... John Connolly, MD
Medical school: Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania (MD)
John Connolly, MD | Medical School: Perelman School of Medicine, University of Pennsylvania
Residency: Johns Hopkins Hospital, Internal Medicine
John Connolly, MD | Residency Program: Johns Hopkins Hospital
1 source claim · Reviewed Sep 5, 2026
Official headshot: Portrait
One Hopkins roster content block contains heading 'John Connolly', Wilmington hometown, University of Virginia undergraduate education, Penn Perelman medical school, and this exact image with alt ' John Connolly'.
1 source claim · 3 journey details · Reviewed Sep 5, 2026
Doctor of Medicine education: Attendance dates unknown. Penn's fellowship roster identifies the Perelman School of Medicine. A 2020 Penn evidence report and a mentor's January 2025 CV independently place Connolly there as a medical student in 2020 and 2021; these observations do not establish continuous attendance or the complete degree interval.
Research mentorship reported as beginning in 2021: 2021
Medical-student research mentee of Amol S. Navathe: Reported as 2021-Present in a January 2025 CV. Navathe's January 2025 CV lists Connolly as a Penn medical-student research mentee from 2021 to 'Present.' That wording describes the CV as of January 2025 and is not treated as proof after that date.
Research affiliation: Penn medical-student research mentee of Amol S. Navathe
From 2021
2021-Present | Research Mentor, John Connolly, Penn medical student
1 source claim · 3 journey details · Reviewed Sep 5, 2026
Doctor of Medicine education: Attendance dates unknown. Penn's fellowship roster identifies the Perelman School of Medicine. A 2020 Penn evidence report and a mentor's January 2025 CV independently place Connolly there as a medical student in 2020 and 2021; these observations do not establish continuous attendance or the complete degree interval.
Observed as a Penn medical student: May 6, 2020
Lead analyst on rapid PPE guidance: May 6, 2020. Penn's May 6, 2020 rapid guidance summary credits Connolly as a lead analyst.
Research contribution: Lead analyst on Penn Medicine's May 2020 rapid guidance summary on personal protective equipment
May 6, 2020
Lead analysts: John Connolly (PSOM); Rishi R. Goel, MSc (PSOM); Sonia Wang (PSOM)
0 source claims · 3 journey details
Internal Medicine Residency: Listed under Senior Residents on Sep 5, 2026. Hopkins’ December 2025 fellowship-match announcement names Penn cardiology, consistent with Penn’s 2026 first-year roster. The still-live senior-resident listing is therefore most plausibly stale; this is a reconciliation inference, not a printed residency end date.
Listed under Senior Residents: Observed Sep 5, 2026
No ORCID education or employment history is available in the sources. The undergraduate completion date, medical-degree conferral date, and residency dates remain unknown.
0 source claims · 4 journey details
Internal Medicine Residency: Listed under Senior Residents on Sep 5, 2026. Hopkins’ December 2025 fellowship-match announcement names Penn cardiology, consistent with Penn’s 2026 first-year roster. The still-live senior-resident listing is therefore most plausibly stale; this is a reconciliation inference, not a printed residency end date.
Matched to Penn cardiology: December 4, 2025 fellowship-match announcement
First-year Cardiovascular Disease Fellow: Observed on current roster, Sep 4, 2026. Penn's roster places Connolly among first-year cardiovascular disease fellows. This observation does not establish the fellowship's full interval.
The dated Hopkins match announcement and subsequent Penn first-year observation support the transition despite the stale senior-resident page. The actual residency end and fellowship start days remain unknown.